Laura

Laura R.

Subjects:

Piano (Classical), Piano (Jazz) more

Studio Lessons

Not currently available

In-Home Lessons

20 miles from Spring Hill, FL 34609

Pricing:
30 min: $10-$20
45 min: $20-$30
60 min: $30-$40
Service Area Description

Overview

  • I have over 1 year of teaching experience
  • I teach kids & adults ages 8 and up
  • I teach special needs students
  • I have a teaching degree
  • I have a graduate degree
  • I can teach from my studio
  • I can teach from your home
  • I am legally permitted to work in the US
  • I am a non-smoker

About Me

Experienced in many styles of music

Hello, and welcome to my profile page! I'm excited that you're interested in learning more about playing the piano, or are looking into it for a loved one. Music is a fantastic area to dive into, and it is not only something that one can enjoy personally, but they can also use it to encourage others!

I have been playing the piano irregularly since I was six. I took some private instruction, but got bored with the lessons and played on my own for a while. I accompanied theatre musicals, worked as a full-time school choral accompanist, and even joined a swing band! I realized that my neglect of lessons inhibited me from doing what I love, so I took several semesters of collegiate-level lessons to brush up my skills. Since then, I've continued to play for a variety of venues and groups, playing everything from classical Chopin to jazzy hits from the 40's such as "Begin the Beguine" and "Putin' on the Ritz"!

If you believe that I could be part of your learning experience in the piano and keyboard, please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have. I am also an accomplished accompanist, who is used to sight-reading materials (thank you theatre! :D), so if you are in need of an accompanist, I am available for hire as well. I look forward to hearing from you!

Blessings,
-Laura


Photos

another picture
Sporting the fedora :)
Playing at the Culpeper State Theatre
Me and the band in the studio!
Me with the swing band during a gig

Videos

No videos
0 Reviews | GPA: 0.0 of 4.0
A = 4.0 B = 3.0 C = 2.0 D = 1.0 F = 0
Ask me for some references

Education

I graduated from Liberty University with a Bachelors in Interdisciplinary Studies: Business & Fine Arts I took a few music courses from George Mason University, including private instruction, music history, accompaniment techniques, teaching techniques, and choral ensemble. I also took several semesters worth of private instruction through the local community college.

Teaching Approach

I tailor the lesson to the student. Based on my experience, the Bastien curriculum was very effective; however, I'm not strict on using it all the time. I will try to maintain a balanced approach, not only teaching the fundamentals of the keyboard, but also theory, technique, and maybe a little history. Each lesson will hit on a little bit of each of these things, depending on time and the level of the student.

Subject Details

Piano (Classical): 

N/A


Piano (Jazz): 

N/A


Schedule of Availability

Mouse over "Available" schedules for details if provided.
Available
Not Available
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
6:00 AM
6:30 AM
7:00 AM
7:30 AM
8:00 AM
8:30 AM
10:00 AM
10:30 AM
11:00 AM
11:30 AM
12:00 PM
12:30 PM
3:30 PM
4:00 PM
4:30 PM
5:00 PM
5:30 PM
6:00 PM
6:30 PM
7:00 PM
7:30 PM
8:00 PM
8:30 PM
9:00 PM
9:30 PM
10:00 PM

Terms and Policies

Minimum Session Duration - 30 minutes
  • I offer free trial sessions
  • Payment Terms
    • Contact me for details
  • I accept cash payment
  • I accept personal checks